I MINA'BENTE OCHO NA LIHESLATURAN GUÅHAN 2006 (SECOND) Regular Session

Resolution No. 185 (LS)

As amended.

Introduced by:

L. F. Kasperbauer
J. M.S. Brown
Ray Tenorio
F. B. Aguon, Jr.
Edward J.B. Calvo
B. J.F. Cruz
Mike Cruz
Mark Forbes
R. Klitzkie
J. A. Lujan
A. B. Palacios, Sr.
R. J. Respicio
A. R. Unpingco
J. T. Won Pat

Relative to commending and congratulating the members of the "45th University of Guam Student Government Association" as they assume office for the 2006 to 2007 Academic year; and to thanking the members and advisors of the "44th University of Guam Student Government Association" for their service, commitment and diligence during the 2005 to 2006 Academic year.

1 BE IT RESOLVED BY I MINA'BENTE OCHO NA LIHESLATURAN

- 2 GUÅHAN:
- WHEREAS, the 2006 to 2007 Academic year rings in a new era of
- 4 stewards tasked with ensuring that students have a voice in the fulfillment of
- 5 the mission of the University of Guam; and

- 1 WHEREAS, the members of the 45th University of Guam Student
- 2 Government Association (UOG SGA) include Michael Bumagat, President;
- 3 Bernard Cruz, Vice President; Maria Sayo, Treasurer; Krystal Junsay,
- 4 Secretary; Mark Alviz, Brian Biacan, Frank Borja, Joann Escalante, Aubrey
- 5 Hocog, Benjamin Franklin Aguon Leon Guerrero II, Glen Leon Guerrero,
- 6 Angelica Mantanona, Pamela Pineda, Angela Sablan, and Darlene Vigil,
- 7 Senators; and
- 8 **WHEREAS**, as members of the 45th UOG SGA, they will carry forward
- 9 the work of past student governments while ensuring that opportunities for
- 10 self-expression remain and the formation of new and improved educational
- 11 programs continues; and
- 12 WHEREAS, the 45th UOG SGA, as stated in its preamble, is set to
- 13 practice the principles of democracy, provide services, coordinate activities for
- 14 UOG students, and encourage cultural unity among members of the
- 15 institution and the island-community; and
- 16 WHEREAS, the members of the 44th UOG SGA include: Sahara June
- 17 Defensor, President; Jessica Pineda, Vice President; Jenny Regis, Treasurer;
- 18 Nancy Mae Carlos, Secretary; and Lynes Bayonito, Michael Bumagat, Bernard
- 19 Cruz, Joseph Gamboa, Krystal Junsay, Bret Maluwelmeng, Edison Manaloto,
- 20 Audrey Muna, Keith Quiambao, Denver Tangonan, and Darlene Vigil
- 21 Senators; and
- WHEREAS, those advisors that provided guidance to the 44th UOG
- 23 SGA include: Professor Christopher Garcia, Division of English & Applied
- 24 Lx.; Dr. Michael Griffin, Communications & Fine Arts; Professor Alicia
- 25 Limtiaco, Division of Public Administration & Legal Studies; Dr. Richard

- 1 Matheny, Division of Social/Behavioral Sciences; Dr. Sweeter Sachuo,
- 2 Secondary Education; and Dr. Annette Santos, Management/Marketing; and
- 3 WHEREAS, through their experience with the UOG SGA and the
- 4 education attained at UOG, the SGA members of today are destined to
- 5 become tomorrow's leaders; now, therefore, be it
- 6 **RESOLVED,** that I Mina' Bente Ocho Na Liheslaturan Guåhan does hereby,
- 7 on behalf of I Liheslaturan Guåhan and the people of Guam, commend and
- 8 congratulate all the members of the 45th University of Guam Student
- 9 Government Association, and wish them great success during the 2006 to 2007
- 10 Academic year; and be it further
- 11 **RESOLVED**, that *I Mina' Bente Ocho Na Liheslaturan Guåhan* does hereby,
- 12 on behalf of I Liheslaturan Guåhan and the people of Guam, thank all the
- 13 members and advisors of the 44th University of Guam Student Government
- 14 Association for their service, commitment, and diligence during the 2005 to
- 15 2006 Academic year; and be it further
- 16 **RESOLVED**, that the Speaker certify, and the Secretary of the
- 17 Legislature attest to, the adoption hereof, and that copies of the same be
- 18 thereafter transmitted to Mr. Michael Bumagat, President, 45th University of
- 19 Guam, Student Government Association; to Ms. Sahara June Defensor,
- 20 President, 44th University of Guam, Student Government Association; to Dr.
- 21 Harold L. Allen, President, University of Guam; and to the Honorable Felix P.
- 22 Camacho, I Maga'lahen Guåhan.

DULY AND REGULARLY ADOPTED BY I MINA'BENTE OCHO NA LIHESLATURAN GUÅHAN ON THE 21ST DAY OF AUGUST 2006.

WARK FORBES

Speaker

EDWARD J.B. CALVO

Senator and Secretary of the Legislature